Tony Houston

Tony Houston's picture
Tony Houston is a linguist and Spanish professor at Bryant University and Media Chair for Humanists of Rhode Island and host of the Rhode Island Humanist Book Club. His research on language and cognition is gravitating toward the philosophy of language, or ordinary language philosophy, in the tradition of Ludwig Wittgenstein and Bertrand Russell. He is especially interested in the way obscurantist religious language leads nominal believers to affirm disingenuous propositions. When he’s not busy being a stoic automaton, Tony enjoys acting, singing and dancing. He blogs as The Multiversalist at http://multiversalist.blogspot.com/.